BatshitCrazyNewz

Things are just so strange these days…

The Great Blogger/Blogspot Outage UPDATED

All of Blogger/Blogspot’s blogs have been malfunctioning since Wednesday night when they were said to be doing some maintenance. When I got online at around 5am yesterday, I couldn’t get at my Blogger dashboard or any part of my blogs hosted there. It has been alternating between read-only mode where you can’t post new content or comment to Blogger/Blogspot blogs or where you can’t access the blogs at all ever since. Blogger has only issued very brief and vague statements on their status page and Twitter feed and as of this posting, they’ve removed all content from everybody’s blogs (and comments to them) that were posted after 7:37 am PST on Wednesday May 11.

That’s part of the reason why I started THIS blog here at WordPress, and I suspect that WordPress will see an uptick in new blogs in the coming days. If Blogger ever fixes their stuff I’ll be blogging again at Zilla of the Resistance, but I’ll be keeping this new blog active as well.

You can read more about the great Blogger blackout HERE and HERE, there was also a massive glitch which screwed up Google’s other services as well.

How have you been weathering the Blogger blackout?

Update: This could be really bad news for Google’s new campaign to get companies to  move their entire businesses into “The Cloud”.

Update #2: As of 1:05 pm EST May 13, 2011 Blogger appears to finally be up and running, at least it is at the Zilla blog.

This post is linked at The Lonely Conservative. Thanks!

Tip Jar

Shop at my store here.

4 responses to “The Great Blogger/Blogspot Outage UPDATED

  1. Pingback: Blogger falls victim to blogger and Right-Wing Blogosphere loses a day | The Lonely Conservative

  2. Pingback: Blogger Still Down: Alternative sites for your favorite conservative bloggers, check back for updates | The Lonely Conservative

  3. Karleen Detering May 15, 2011 at 10:49 pm

    Hi, just found your site from stumbleupon. It’s not an article I would normally read, but I liked your perspective on it. Thanx for making an article worth reading!

Leave a comment